

# **Press Release**

102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 • Jillian V. Lader, Manager of Communications Office: 410-588-5203 • Jillian.Lader@hcps.org • www.hcps.org • Fax: 410-893-2478

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 27, 2024

# HCPS Announces Finalists for Celebration of Excellence in Education

Honorees come from multiple aspects of education in Harford County Public Schools

Harford County Public Schools (HCPS) is proud to announce the finalists for all areas being honored at the 2024 Celebration of Excellence in Education. These areas include leadership, facilities, food and nutrition, technology, educational support professionals, and custodians.

Each nomination was carefully reviewed and scored by a judging panel to determine the finalists.

Here are the finalists of each award, in alphabetical order:

#### Teacher of the Year

- 1. Verna Hiser, Gifted and Talented Resource Teacher, Homestead/Wakefield Elementary School
- 2. Jennifer Knapp, First Grade Teacher, Red Pump Elementary School
- 3. Erica Richardson, Social Studies Teacher, Joppatowne High School
- 4. Jennifer Selke, Teacher Specialist-Reading, Emmorton Elementary School
- 5. Jill Truszkowski, Foreign Language Teacher-Spanish, C. Milton Wright High School

#### **Principal**

- 1. Lisa Minutoli, Churchville Elementary School
- 2. Laurie Namey, Magnolia Middle School
- 3. Ronald Wooden, Old Post Road Elementary School

#### **Assistant Principal**

- 1. Melissa McKay, Southampton Middle School
- 2. Erin Morring, Magnolia Elementary School
- 3. Tara Sample, Riverside Elementary School

#### **Educational Support Professional**

- 1. Noel First, Administrative Support Specialist-Lead, Deerfield Elementary School
- 2. Dwayne Howell, School Safety Liaison, Magnolia Middle School
- 3. Beth Iampieri, Paraeducator, Forest Hill Elementary School

#### **Food and Nutrition**

- 1. Faiza Ansari, Food Service Worker, Homestead/Wakefield Elementary School
- 2. Charles Coakley, Distribution Center Associate, Business Services
- 3. Anne Garner, Satellite Kitchen Assistant, Emmorton Elementary School

#### **Facilities**

- 1. Anthony Frassetto, Boiler Technician, Facilities
- 2. Donald "DJ" Smacher, Crew Chief-Plumbing and Heating, Facilities
- 3. Ralph Williams, HVAC Technician, Facilities

## Technology

1. Todd Floros, Printer I, Office of Technology

### Custodian

- 1. Vickie Brenza Preston, Custodian, Havre de Grace Middle School
- 2. Harvey Cage, Chief Custodian Level IV, Havre de Grace Middle School
- 3. David Johnson, Custodian, Ring Factory Elementary School

A surprise announcement for each award winner will take place at the Celebration of Excellence in Education event, scheduled for April 9, 2024.

###