Press Release

Harford County Public Schools

102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 ● Teri D. Kranefeld ● Manager of Communications

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MARCH 17, 2010

HCPS announces top ten contenders for county teacher of the year

Expert educators vie for prestigious title

The top ten finalists for the 2010 Harford County Teacher of the Year award have been released and are listed below. The judging panel had a difficult and unenviable task again this year with many outstanding teachers nominated for the award. Just to have been deemed worthy by a student, parent, administrator or someone else to be Harford's Teacher of the Year from among the 2,900 teachers in the system is noteworthy.

Teacher	School	Subject/Grade
Rachel A. Coutts	Havre de Grace Middle School	Language Arts
Thomas E. Dennison	Havre de Grace Elementary School	Kindergarten
Brooke L. Fisher	C. Milton Wright High School	Social Studies
Brian H. Folus	Bel Air & Joppatowne elementary schools	Instrumental Music
Susan E. Havran	Dublin & Norrisville elementary schools	Art
Sandra J. McMichael	Fallston High School	English
Lisa C. Mullen	North Harford Middle School	Language Arts
Jacqueline K. Smith	Joppatowne High School	Science
Melissa M. Surgeon	Abingdon Elementary School	Special Education
Jeffrey E. Winfield	Edgewood High School	Music

After this year's Teacher of the Year Judging Committee reviewed and scored all nomination packets, the points were tallied resulting in this top ten group of dedicated educators, one of which will be crowned the 2010 Harford County Teacher of the Year. Each finalist will participate in an interview round with a panel of five judges on Monday, March 29th and Tuesday, March 30th.

A surprise announcement of the winner will take place at the annual Harford County Teacher of the Year banquet held on Thursday, April 22nd at the Bayou Restaurant in Havre de Grace. The Bayou Restaurant has graciously provided this event complimentary to Harford County Public Schools for more than 15 years.

Biographical information and photos of each finalist will be available on the HCPS website, www.hcps.org, in the coming weeks.