BOARD OF EDUCATION OF HARFORD COUNTY

Appointment of 2025-2026 Calendar Committee Members

August 12, 2024

Background Information

The Board of Education of Harford County charters annually a calendar committee to make recommendations on future school schedules. The Board established on April 15, 2002, the makeup of the committee. The committee meets to make recommendations for a calendar eight months hence. Prior to the committee's meeting, the Board of Education endorses membership on the committee. For the twenty-second year, the Board of Education has directed that a Board member serve as an ex-officio member of the calendar committee.

In addition, the Board of Education is asked to establish parameters to be considered by the committee prior to the committee's meeting.

Discussion

The Communications Office has compiled a list of potential members in the attached document matching the categories established by the Board of Education. The 2025-26 calendar committee will be scheduled to meet and make recommendations in a virtual meeting at the beginning of September.

Superintendent's Recommendation

The Superintendent recommends that the Board of Education of Harford County confirm the members of the 2025-26 HCPS calendar committee as listed on the included document. In addition, the Superintendent recommends the Board provide parameters via Board Calendar Committee Liaisons Melissa Hahn, Terri Kocher, and Carol Mueller for the committee to consider.

Harford County Public Schools 2025-2026 Calendar Committee Members

Board Liaison Mrs. Melissa Hahn, Board Vice-President Mrs. Terri Kocher, Board Member Dr. Carol Mueller, Board Member

Harford County Regional Association of Student Councils Sasha Pazoki, Student Member, Board of Education

Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources Ben Richardson

Assistant Superintendent for Operations

Executive Director of Elementary School Instruction and Performance Dyann Mack

Director of Middle School Innovation Natalie Holloway

Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment Heather Kutcher Monica Hobbs, Administrative Support Coordinator

Supervisor of Accountability Phillip Snyder

Supervisor of Equity & Cultural Proficiency Paula Stanton

Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment Andy Renzulli

Director of Organizational Development and Continuous Learning Peter Carpenter

HCPS Teacher of the Year Erica Richardson, Joppatowne High School

Elementary School Administrator Marc Hamilton, Riverside Elementary School

Secondary School Administrator Laurie Namey, Magnolia Middle School Ri-Chard McCarthy, Aberdeen High School

Harford County Public Schools 2025-2026 Calendar Committee Members

Harford County Parent Teacher Association (PTA) Representatives Renee DeBiase, Harford County Council PTA President Andrea Richie, Fallston High School

American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Tunisia Gannon

Association of Harford County Administrative, Technical & Supervisory Professionals/Transportation Representative Danielle Bedsaul

Association of Public School Administrators & Supervisors of Harford County Melissa Williams

Harford County Education Association/ Harford County Educational Services Council Chrystie Crawford-Smick

Special Education Citizens Advisory Committee Jeanne Erdley, Chairperson

Aberdeen Proving Ground Brittany Johnson, School Liaison Officer

Business Community – Harco Federal Credit Union Karen Munoz Andino, Branch Admin Officer Erin McComas, Director of Member Experience and Engagement

Harford Community College Courtney Mitchell, HCC Registrar

Day Care Providers Megan Cornett, Boys & Girls Club Nicole Lubinski, Boys & Girls Club Patrick Leist, Caliday Connie Schyan-Cusato, YMCA

<u>Religious Organizations</u> Rabbi Kushi Schusterman, Harford Chabad

Agricultural Community Robert Tibbs, Shadow Springs Farm

<u>Community</u> Shital Gandhi, Community Representative