BOARD OF EDUCATION OF HARFORD COUNTY

INFORMATIONAL REPORT

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERSHIP TO THE BOARD OF EDUCATION'S AUDIT COMMITTEE

June 23, 2025

Background Information:

The Board of Education's Audit Committee's primary duties and responsibilities as established by the Audit Committee Charter are to serve as an independent and objective party to monitor the district's financial reporting process and review the efforts of the internal and external auditors. The Audit Committee assists the Board of Education in fulfilling its fiduciary oversight responsibilities.

The Audit Committee consists of six members (three members of the Board of Education and three community members). The members are required to be appointed by the Board for staggered three-year terms and are eligible for reappointment for a total of two terms.

The current Audit Committee Members are as follows:

- 1. Mr. Wade Sewell, Board Member
- 2. Ms. Lauren Paige Strauss, Board Member
- 3. Ms. Denise Perry, Board Member
- 4. Mr. David Hanson (First term ending 6/30/2025)
- 5. Ms. Nicole DeJarnette (Second term ending 6/30/2026)
- 6. Mr. Robert Adkins (First term ending 6/30/2027)

Discussion:

Mr. David Hanson is currently on the Audit Committee and his first full term expires on 6/30/2025. Mr. Hanson has been an asset to the Audit Committee. Mr. Hanson is a Certified Public Accountant and has a combined 50 years of experience in accounting and auditing. The Audit Committee is requesting that the Board reappoint Mr. Hanson to be a member of the Audit Committee for an additional term (Final Term ending 6/30/2028).

Board of Education's Audit Committee Recommendation:

The Board of Education's Audit Committee requests that the Board of Education members reappoint Mr. David Hanson (Final term ending 6/30/2028).