Skip Navigation Links
HCPS News and Events

North Harford High Envirothon team takes first place in county competition

For the first time in 10 years, a public school took first place in this year’s Harford County Envirothon competition.  Congratulations to North Harford High School for earning the title!

Ryan O'Leary, Will Beltran, Alayna Dorbert, Aubrey Williams and Will Eakes of the school's first-string "A team," called Contour, scored 511 points in the competition to capture the win.

North Harford teacher Laura O'Leary was the team's faculty advisor.

North Harford also took first place among the B teams. Their squad, called Residue, had 349.5 points.
Scores were based on field experiments and surveys conducted around the 4-H camp property, which is off of Cherry Hill Road near Deer Creek, in the areas of aquatics, forestry, soils and wildlife, as well as a fifth topic related to a contemporary environmental issue, which changes each year.  This year's fifth topic covered agricultural stewardship and conservation planning.

The students gave presentations on their fifth topic before the competition, and then completed written exams on the topic, along with their field work on the other four topics.

North Harford took home several top prizes in the individual categories, too. Contour took first place in the fifth topic oral presentation, along with forestry and aquatics.

In addition, the team earned the annual Doc Bailey Achievement Award, which goes to the team that demonstrates the largest improvement in scores from the previous year.

North Harford will represent Harford County during the state Envirothon competition June 14 to 16 at the Pecometh Camp in Queen Anne's County.

The winner of the state competition will represent Maryland among schools from the U.S. and Canada during the national competition in July at Mount St. Mary's University in Emmitsburg.

Congratulations to North Harford High School and all the students who participated in this year’s Envirothon!


A team members: left to right; Ryan O'Leary, Will Beltran, Alayna Dorbert, Aubrey Williams, Will Eakes.