Skip Navigation Links
Closings & Delays

As of Tuesday, March 31, 2015 11:29 AM --

The 2014-2015 HCPS calendar contains the potential for 191 student days — 11 more than the state minimum requirement of 180 days. If schools are closed 11 days or more due to emergency conditions, weather related or otherwise, it may be necessary to alter the school calendar.

The dates below are designated inclement weather make-up days and are listed in the order in which they will be used.

  1. Wednesday, June 10 (for closing on January 6)
  2. Thursday, June 11 (for closing on January 12)
  3. Friday, June 12 (for closing on January 26)
  4. Monday, June 15 (for closing on February 10)
  5. Tuesday, June 16 (for closing on February 17)
  6. Wednesday, June 17 (for closing on February 20)
  7. Thursday, June 18 (for closing on February 26)
  8. Friday, June 19 (for closing on March 2)
  9. Friday, April 10 (for closing on March 5)
  10. Thursday, April 9 (for closing on March 6)
  11. Wednesday, April 8

All closings and delays for the 2014-15 school year:
  • January 6: Closed
  • January 7: 2-hour delay
  • January 8: 2-hour delay
  • January 12: Closed
  • January 22: 2-hr delay
  • January 26: Closed
  • January 27: 2-hr delay
  • February 2: 2-hr delay
  • February 10: Closed
  • February 17: Closed
  • February 20: Closed
  • February 23: 2-hr delay
  • February 26: Closed
  • March 2: Closed
  • March 4: 2-hr delay
  • March 5: Closed
  • March 6: Closed
 

*Waivers for days used cannot be requested until after inclement weather season, and must be granted by the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE). They are not automatically granted, regardless of ‘State of Emergency’ status as declared by the Governor during an inclement weather event.