Skip Navigation Links
HCPS News and Events

Harford County Public Schools is Home to Five National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists

Four of the county’s five semifinalists are from the Science and Mathematics Academy at Aberdeen High School
The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the PSAT/NMSQT—which serves as an initial screening of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.
Last year, approximately 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the PSAT. The Nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.
Maryland has 222 semifinalists, five of which are from Harford County Public Schools. Of these five students, four attend the Science and Mathematics Academy at Aberdeen High School. Shourov Kundu, Joseph Mattson, Max Nguyen, and Ian Tokarchik will be moving on to compete to become finalists in the program. Adam DelColliano, of C. Milton Wright High School, is also a semifinalist moving forward.
Way to go, and we wish you the best of luck!