An Important Message from Harford County Public Schools LEARN MORE

Home - Harford County Public Schools

Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building
102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014
Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051
Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022
Web Site:


MondayDecember 212020

Board Open Session: 5:25PM - Board Room
Board Closed Session: 5:30PM - Board Executive Conference Room
Board Business Meeting: 6:30PM - Board Room
***This meeting of the Board of Education of Harford County will be conducted in a hybrid fashion, with Board members in attendance either in-person or via teleconference.***
102 S. Hickory Avenue
A.A. Roberty Building
Bel Air, MD 21014

SPECIAL NOTICE: Due to COVID-19, this meeting will be conducted in a hybrid fashion, with Board members, required staff and presenters in attendance either in-person or via teleconference. There is no public access to the A. A. Roberty Building, 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, MD 21014. The agenda and materials are available on under Board of Education meetings. In light of the logistical/technological issues involved with allowing public comment, it is anticipated that the Board will vote to waive the requirement that the Board receive in-person public comment, and that, in substitution for in-person public comment, the Board will receive public comment as more fully described in the public comment notice.

The Audio Live Stream is available on HCPS.ORG/BOE/LIVESTREAM.

*Times are approximate
6:30 PM
Call to Order: Board President
Quorum Roll Call
Adoption of Agenda
6:35 PM A.

Request to Waive, In Part, Provisions of the Following Board Policy 22-0008-000 Public Participation at Board Open Meetings or Public Hearings

6:40 PM B.

Board Member Comments

6:50 PM C.

Public Comments

7:00 PM D.

Consent Agenda


Monthly Personnel Report - November 2020


School/Organization Sponsored Project - Patterson Mill Middle and High School Husky Mascot Statue


Minutes of Previous Board Meeting:  December 7, 2020


Contract Award:  Interactive Panels (CARES Act Funds)

7:05 PM E.

Decision on Proposed 2021-22 HCPS School Calendar, Ms. Jillian Lader, Manager of Communications

7:25 PM F.

Decision on Proposed New Board Policy 24-0007-000 Educational Equity, Patrick P. Spicer, Esq.

7:45 PM G.

Presentation on Assessing Facility Utilization and Balancing Enrollment and Decision on Guiding Principles, Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent of Operations, Mr. Chris Morton, Supervisor of Planning and Construction, Mrs. Missy Valentino, Facilities Planner, Ms. Kate Doiron, FLO Analytics, Ms. McKay Larrabee, FLO Analytics, Ms. Ingrid Boucher, Bloom Planning

8:05 PM H.

Quarter One Student Performance Review, Dr. Susan Brown, Executive Director of Curriculum and Assessment, Mr. Buck Hennigan, Executive Director of Student Services, Mr. Mike O' Brien, Executive Director of Middle and High School Performance, Ms. Renee Villareal, Executive Director of Elementary Education, Mr. Phil Snyder, Supervisor of Accountability, Dr. Paula Stanton, Manager of Equity and Cultural Proficiency

8:25 PM I.

Superintendent's Report

8:35 PM
Future Meetings Review

Date Time Place Event
MondayJanuary 112021 6:30PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Business Meeting
MondayJanuary 112021 5:30PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Open Session
WednesdayJanuary 202021 5:30PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Virtual Meeting Board Open Session
MondayJanuary 252021 7:30PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Business Meeting
MondayJanuary 252021 6:30 PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Work Session
WednesdayJanuary 272021 10:00 AM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Special Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.
The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Paula Stanton, Manager of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:
Goal 1: Prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.
Goal 2: Engage families and the community to be partners in the education of our students.
Goal 3: Hire and support highly effective staff who are committed to building their own professional capacity in order to increase student achievement.
Goal 4: Provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning, creativity and innovation.
Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network
Dr. Sean W. BulsonSuperintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer
Jansen M. Robinson, President Elected Member, Councilmanic District A
Rachel Gauthier, Vice-President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E
Dr. David Bauer, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B
Dr. Joyce Herold, Appointed Member-at-Large
Sonja Karwacki, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F
Dr. Carol L. Mueller, County Council Appointed Member, District C
Dr. Roy Phillips, Appointed Member-at-Large
Patrice J. Ricciardi, Appointed Member-at-Large
Tamera Rush, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D
Phoebe BaileyStudent Board Member
Yvonne RalloBoard of Education Administrative Support Coordinator