An Important Message on COVID-19 or Coronavirus LEARN MORE

Home - Harford County Public Schools

Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building
102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014
Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051
Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022
Web Site:
Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS. Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.


MondayJuly 132020

Board Business Meeting: 6:30 PM - Board Room
***This meeting of the Board of Education of Harford County will be conducted entirely via teleconference***
102 S. Hickory Avenue
A.A. Roberty Building
Bel Air, MD 21014

SPECIAL NOTICE: Due to COVID19, this meeting will be conducted entirely via teleconference; there is no public access to the A.A. Roberty Building, 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, MD 21014. Board members and presenters will participate via teleconference. The agenda and materials are available on under Board of Education meetings. Agenda items have been condensed to include only those items that require Board action at this time. In light of the logistical/technological issues involved with allowing public comment, it is anticipated that the Board will vote to waive the requirement that the Board receive in-person public comment, and that in substitution for in-person public comment, the Board will receive public comment via e-mail as more fully described in the public comment notice. Public comments may be submitted in writing to

The Audio Live Stream is available on HCPS.ORG/BOE/LIVESTREAM.

*Times are approximate
6:30 PM
Call to Order: Board President

Swearing-In of 2020-2021 Student Board Member, Ms. Phoebe Bailey, Joppatowne High School

Quorum Roll Call
Adoption of Agenda
6:35 PM A.

Request to Waive in Part Provisions of Board Policy 22-0008-000 Public Participation at Board Open Meetings or Public Hearings

6:40 PM B.

Public Comment

6:45 PM C.

Board Committee Reports and Comments

6:55 PM D.

Consent Agenda


Contract Award:  Door Locks and Hardware


Contract Award:  Explore Learning Gizmos Site License Renewal


Contract Award:  Renewal of eSchoolPlus


Contract Award:  Software License and Maintenance Renewal Lawson for the ERP System

7:00 PM E.

Recognition and Presentation - Teacher of the Year Finalists, Mr. Eric Davis, Chief of Administration

2019 Teacher of the Year Finalists - The Fab 5

  • Rebecca Martinek - C. Milton Wright School
  • Paige Milanoski - Havre de Grace High School
  • Kristie Smith - Bel Air Middle School
  • Kathleen Thompson - Joppatowne and Ring Factory Elementary Schools
  • Dawn Zipay - Ring Factory Elementary School

2020 Teacher of the Year Finalists - The QuaranTeam 5

  • Karen Gonzalez - Magnolia Middle School
  • Jennifer Knoll - Edgewood Middle School
  • Erinn Ragan - Ring Factory Elementary School
  • Melissa Van Ruiten - Youth's Benefit Elementary School
  • Elizabeth White - 2020 Teacher of the Year - Harford Technical High School
7:10 PM F.

Presentation on HCPS Recovery Plans for Fall 2020, Dr. Sean Bulson, Superintendent

7:25 PM G.

Presentation of FY2022 Capital Improvement Program, Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent of Operations, Ms. Patti Jo Beard, Executive Director of Facilities Management, Mr. Chris Morton, Supervisor of Planning and Construction, Ms. Missy Valentino, Facilities Planner

7:40 PM H.

Presentation on Contracted Custodial Services, Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent for Operations, Ms. Patti Jo Beard, Executive Director of Facilities Management, Ms. Bobbi Tolston, Supervisor of Purchasing, Mr. Richard Hanzevack, Assistant Supervisor, Maintenance/Operations

7:55 PM I.

Presentation and Discussion on Renaming of Public School Buildings, Patrick P. Spicer, Esq.

8:10 PM J.

Superintendent's Report

8:20 PM
Future Meetings Review

Date Time Place Event
MondayAugust 102020 6:30 PM Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room Board Business Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.
The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Paula Stanton, Manager of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:
Goal 1: Prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.
Goal 2: Engage families and the community to be partners in the education of our students.
Goal 3: Hire and support highly effective staff who are committed to building their own professional capacity in order to increase student achievement.
Goal 4: Provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning, creativity and innovation.
Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network
Dr. Sean W. BulsonSuperintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer
Jansen M. Robinson, President Elected Member, Councilmanic District A
Rachel Gauthier, Vice-President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E
Dr. David Bauer, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B
Dr. Joyce Herold, Appointed Member-at-Large
Sonja Karwacki, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F
Dr. Carol L. Mueller, County Council Appointed Member, District C
Dr. Roy Phillips, Appointed Member-at-Large
Patrice J. Ricciardi, Appointed Member-at-Large
Tamera Rush, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D
Phoebe BaileyStudent Board Member
Teri SchmidBoard of Education Administrative Assistant